When I wake up in the morning reading the bible verse for the day through my phone app is usually my first act since my phone is already in hand from turning off the alarm.  I don’t typically sit and study the bible and this daily verse is a great way for me to get my daily bread.  Besides, the app has a variation of translations so I can get the best understanding possible – unlike simply trying to read the King James Version without knowledge of the language from his era.

Today’s verse was from Colossians 3:1-2.

 If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God.

Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.  I think if these verses were clear enough for me to understand without translation, surely anyone else can.  But if not, here’s the gist of what it means. 

If, and only if you are with Christ as a believer and follower.  If you believe in God as your creator, giver and sustainer of all things.  If you believe you are a spiritual being having a natural experience, which your natural life choices determine where your spirit will return once your natural life is over.  Then and only then are you advised to keep your heart set on returning your spirit back to the place from whence (like my Old English usage there?) it came.

Now here’s where I know many people have an issue cause until today, this was my issue or maybe concern.  If we are to live on this earth, be fruitful and multiply and have our sights set on heaven and all things God – What does that mean for our living on earth?  Does that mean we are to live poorly for the sake of going back to heaven? Does that mean we are not to want things while we exist on this earth?  Does that mean we’re not to fully experience earthly living?  What does that really mean?

Well, to me, this morning it means that my heart and my mind should align with the fact that God wants me back like a parent’s lost child.  And like a lost child I should want to live back home with my father.  Shortly after waking up and reading that scripture I saw a story about a famous athlete whose marriage ended about the same time his career did.  My thought was – Wow…Why?   But as that scripture marinated in my mind, the why became clear.  We are not immune to loss and not exempt from success, but those things and everything else good and bad are more controlled when our true hearts desire is God the father,and his son Jesus the Christ (that’s not to say I know where a person’s heart lies).  But when you allow your desire, ambitions and focus to become taking care of the business of heaven, heaven will take care of your business with clear certainty.  That includes life relationships.

What does that mean I should do now?  My initial desires from childhood were to have great success and riches.  I had no idea how that would happen or in what way I wanted it to happen, all I knew was as a child, I wanted money, lots and lots of money.  Now as a mature and more wise adult, I still want money, but these days the idea of lots and lots of money still sounds great, but is no longer where my heart lies.  The bible doesn’t teach us not to want good things, not to go after those things, and that it’s bad to desire the things we do within reason and safety of course.  What we’re to understand while living is the basis of one commandment; “Thou shalt have no other gods before me.” (Exodus 20:3).  There’s no other way to say it, no other way to break it down.  If you let your affections be set on the kingdom of heaven, where is the room to worship anything else?  As a matter of fact, the bible tells us that as a believer, God is certain to take care of our actual needs, even when meeting those needs becomes uncertain.  We’re also promised to have our desires fulfilled, if we seek first the kingdom of God.  To most it can sound contradicting, but its all about where the ultimate desire of your heart and mind lie.

That doesn’t mean we have to completely ignore life on earth.  Think about the way children operate.  When a child really wants something they let you know how badly they want it and what they’re willing to do for it.  Depending on the child, the circumstance, and the desire, an adult may not always be so quick to fulfill the child’s desires.  The child has to prove himself as deserving of this big want.  So time goes on and the child seems to have forgotten about the initial request.  Days come and go where the child asks for this, has his mind-set on that and it may appear he has forgotten about the big request.  It may also appear he has forgotten what the conditions of receiving his request were.  Then one day it hits.  He comes and asks again, but this time with supporting reasons why he deserves fulfillment of his wish.  You’re a good parent, you cannot deny your child is more than deserving of his request even though you assumed he forgot about the whole thing because he went on living his life and didn’t stop to hold his breath while waiting on your OK.  It’s alright to experience living while you wait to accomplish your main goal.  It is not alright to take your eyes off the prize.  Just like a child, you will reap the consequences of reneging on your promise.

So, in short, what Colossians 3 did for me this morning was help me understand I have room in my life for many things, but there’s only room in my heart for one thing – pleasing heaven with my earthly works, seeking the ways of God, and returning to heaven (OK that’s three things).  With that being said, today my mind has been instantly transformed to a new way of thinking and understanding.  I feel less stressed about things and people I cannot  control.  Worry about my tomorrow has decreased tremendously.  Now as I go through this process of stepping into my earthly purpose, I don’t have to feel overwhelmed about the good, the bad and the ugly – those things are a guarantee of living.  I’m not a bad person for wanting to find success on earth and gain a balance between relationships, finances, career and spirituality.  However, I understand more than ever the importance of keeping my eye on the real prize even while I diligently work on evolving my circumstances.  Knowing that earthly treasures pale in comparison to the treasures of heaven.

 

